AVTRW meeting 2018

72nd AVTRW Annual Conference

17th-18th September 2018

School of Veterinary Medicine and Science

University of Nottingham

University of Nottingham Vet School

The 2018 AVTRW Conference was held at the University of Nottingham on 17th and 18th September.


In keeping with AVTRW tradition, the programme highlighted research from a wide range of areas. The following plenary speakers started the sessions:

Dr Janet Daly, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Nottingham “Cross-species transmission in companion animals”

Prof. Damer Blake, The Royal Veterinary College. “Eimeria interactions with the enteric microbiota – saints or sinners?”

Dr Adrian Philbey, Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies and The Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh. "Veterinary Pathology"

Amy Jackson (AHDB Sponsored Invited Speaker). “Are we getting science communication right?”

Dr Sabine Totemeyer School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Nottingham: "Towards a better understanding of footrot in sheep: Is Dichelobacter nodosus the primary instigator or setting the scene for opportunists?"

Dr Adelle Bowden, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Nottingham: "Colic, equine welfare, public engagement."

The full programme is available as a PDF for download.

Prize winners

Poster prizes, sponsored by AHDB, were won by postgraduate students Sophie Pulcella (RVC – first prize), Diana Vargas, Jemma Franklin and Emma Fairbanks (runners up - all University of Nottingham). Oral presentation prizes, sponsored by the RVC were won by Bhagyalakshmi Chengat (RVC, first prize), Alexander Hall, (RVC - runner up), Alexander Byrne (APHA - runner up), Terry Akagha (University of Nottingham - runner up).

The prize sponsors (AHDB and the RVC) are gratefully acknowledged for their generous contribution to these awards.


Further information 

More details regarding the scientific content of the meeting can be found from the members-only area